Home » Internet » Frustrations of blogging

Frustrations of blogging

I think I owe an apology to the few faithful readers who visit this blog, especially as I’ve been posting less regularly of late. Some of the reasons for this, I’ve alluded to in previous posts.

In the past, in the old days of blogging, I often found inspiration for posts in reading others’ blogs, others who were more or less of a similar mind. Granted, agreeing with others is often less stimulating than finding someone who offers a viewpoint which challenges me to re-think something, but it is encouraging, in a world which has gone crazy, to find another sane soul out there who thinks similar thoughts.

Lately, though, I find it discouraging and frustrating to read many of the right-leaning blogs because I find myself quite at odds with many of them, and maybe that means I’ve outlived my ‘usefulness’ as a blogger; I’m past my ‘pull date’,  or my time has come and gone. I suspect many of the younger bloggers and readers would agree; I probably appear to be a relic, not relevant to today’s world. But then that’s what people of rightward inclinations look like to people who reject the past itself as irrelevant and backward.

But then I’ve always stated my position as being ‘seek out the old paths’. And it’s generally been true that the majority responds to that command with ‘We will not walk therein.’ The world has generally loved change for its own sake; people love novelty, and today’s world more so than ever. Even the ‘right’ wants a new order of things, and rejects much of the past and those who represent it. So I don’t expect to be popular or widely read.

Still, is it too much to hope for to find people who respect truth, truth with both a ‘small-t’ and with a capital ‘T’? It does seem as if the right loves its own particular half-truths and falsehoods almost as much as the left wallows in its lies.

There are so many unsupported assertions and popular tropes that don’t bear examination repeated on right-wing blogs, and my misfortune is that the old ‘schoolteacher’ instinct in me makes me want to try to correct a lot of those half-truths and canards. I am finally realizing I can’t do that; I can’t change people’s false conceptions; it’s a losing battle, especially as most people seem content to let things be, and to pass along certain popular misconceptions.

Example: “White women are responsible for most interracial marriages and relationships. White female/black male is the most common type of interracial couple.”

Another: ‘Christian refugees (from the Middle East and elsewhere) should be welcomed. They are not a problem.’

Another: What I call the ‘favorite minority‘ habit. ”[Fill in the blank] make good Americans. They assimilate and are good citizens.”

Another minor, but annoying one: ‘American blacks have 17 percent (or whatever percentage) White blood.’ To say that the average percentage of White blood among American blacks is 17 (or whatever) percent is not to say that all blacks have that amount. People don’t seem to understand the difference, and they insist that most if not all blacks have White blood. Maybe I am being pedantic (again, it’s my training showing here) but it’s exasperating.

And one of the most persistent, and the most impervious to any effort to correct it, ‘Boomers are the most liberal and stupid age group. They caused all our problems.” There are several prominent bloggers who regularly propagate that idea and their commenters eat it up. I’ve come to think it’s a lost cause. There seems to be a deep-seated need for a scapegoat.

I’ve always been something of a contrarian; it’s a kind of curse — or is it a blessing?  — maybe because I was strongly influenced by the people of my grandparents’ generation. As time goes by it seems I feel more on the outside looking in, in my own country.

The answer to this frustration? I suppose I have to relinquish the idea that I can ‘make a difference’ in any way; maybe all this blog can be is my own effort to vent my feelings and express my thoughts for my own sake. If that’s all it is to be, though, why expose myself to scrutiny by those who monitor dissident blogs and ‘unacceptable’ opinions? That’s a question I ask myself these days, and the answer is still up in the air.

Again, thanks to my regular readers for your loyalty despite my lack of inspiration lately.

6 thoughts on “Frustrations of blogging

  1. These days I feel like just about every organised political group from every part of the spectrum would regard me as a heretic. And I guess I’m no better – I consider most of these groups to be heretics.

    The problem is that there is no longer any left or right. Politics has fragmented completely. There’s no simple political spectrum. There’s something that resembles a vast ocean and there are countless islands in this ocean, each island being yet another political faction that has its own enemies, its own allies and its own obsessions.

    There are the islands representing the globalist faction and the nationalist faction, others representing the social conservatives and the social radicals, there’s the foreign interventionist island and the isolationist island, the free trade island and the protectionist island. And then we get to religion and it’s worse. It’s not just another binary opposition – there are the atheists, the evangelical Christians, the churchians, the traditionalist Catholics, the Muslims and the Jews and countless others and they all have their own political agendas.

    There’s also Alt-Right island, part of the Alt archipelago that also (apparently) includes the alt-white, the alt-lite and the alt-west. All of these islands are at war with the “mainstream conservatives” and then there are the neocons and the libertarians.

    Politics has become frighteningly chaotic. There’s no longer a political struggle between left and right, just a bewildering array of political civil wars between ever-changing alliances.

    Like

  2. Keep on blogging, if for no other reason than to piss of the overseers. Some may call your posts “old-fashioned,” but I see that as a good thing.

    BTW, I’m interested in your thoughts on the article I sent you about how the German people regard their past.

    Like

  3. “These days I feel like just about every organised political group from every part of the spectrum would regard me as a heretic. And I guess I’m no better – I consider most of these groups to be heretics.

    The problem is that there is no longer any left or right. Politics has fragmented completely. There’s no simple political spectrum. There’s something that resembles a vast ocean and there are countless islands in this ocean, each island being yet another political faction that has its own enemies, its own allies and its own obsessions.”

    I can understand your frustration VA. I used to post here under my real name when you were still on Blogger. I was in my early 20’s then and am 30 now. I know I’m a heretic among most of my family and friends, politically speaking. I enjoy your writings, however infrequent they may be as they are a window to the past. Those that don’t remember their own past (individually or collectively) are doomed.

    To give you an example of my political evolution: in high school I was probably a centrist (among other things, I was concerned with ‘racism”) but still had conservative parents who kind of kept me in check; by junior year of undergrad, I was solidly Republican, borderline heretical due to my views on immigration; by the time I was in Spain (I hope this rings a bell to you who I am) I was definitely a heretic on immigration. I have pretty much stayed outside of the Republican right view on immigration and other things since then.

    I know it can get infuriating reading over at Vox’s about how they consistently beat on boomers. I even know that boomers are not because of what happened today.

    It might sound trite but keep your chin up. Lastly, my e-mail is my old burner e-mail I lost access to.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Outliers (#51) « Amerika

  5. VA,

    This might seem out of context for this post, but I know no other way to reach you. Recently I’ve been watching a show called “The Son” on A&E which recounts the life of the fictional “First son of Texas”. The show has been some-what entertaining, and early on I thought they might give a fair account of whites, Mexicans and Comanches. Instead, the show has become a series of flashbacks of a youthful Eli, held captive by Comanches, suffering from Stockholm Syndrome, who must learn that the brutality and nature of the white man’s enemies is directly caused by their sense of false entitlement to other’s property and land (“Did you not expect us to fight for it?” an Indian asks as they brutally torture a Texas buffalo Soldier). “Why is Eli so surprised as they attack and enact retribution on whites”, the show implicitly wishes us to ask ourselves? I’m halfway through the first season and will likely see it to the end, if only to discern just how poorly our television networks think of white people.

    I’d hoped you’d seen it so and might blog about it because I think you could give a much better analysis then I could ever hope to do. Anyways, thought you might like to know.

    Thanks for your hard work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

